Innsmouth Academy: Carter

Posted on

Carter

Innsmouth Academy

Yourself

So. Uh. How’s your super-story going so far? Swallowed a bee, wrecked your place, I know how that one starts. They say we’re gifted. I don’t wanna come across like a spoiled brat, but gee, some gift! Scared off my friends, my family. Any chance for a normal life. I even creeped out the other students here at, you know, Hogwarts. I can’t blame them. Sometimes when I dream, it gives my roommates nosebleeds. That doesn’t really make me BFF material. Have you…had the dreams yet? Of the world suspended in a cold, cold darkness. Of voices worse than anything you ever heard on MTV – even in the reality shows. Of elder things. No? You will. Not to get all Emo Allen Poe about it, but you will. It comes with the powers. It’s a portent, Mr. Montag says. Enjoy the ones about swimming, or flying, or absent friends while you can.

Innsmouth Academy

I wish I could say this isn’t how I planned my sweet sixteen. But really, I haven’t known any other life. They took me in here when I was twelve, the youngest enrollment since like, ever. My parents didn’t wanna let me go, but what else could they do? Pay off another trashed house and interstate move? They still apologize in every letter from home. Here, the teachers straight-up told me I had a great responsibility. For the way the world would be. Heavy, right? That’s like graduation speech stuff. And I got hit with it before puberty! So, I pretty much became the outcast loner chick with the dark secret. Just like in Danny’s comics. Danny’s sweet, and kind, and more worried if I like his corny 80s movies than whether my powers are gonna fry us both. It’s pretty cool. To not be judged by a normal person. That is, mostly normal. I think there’s something in the water in Kingsmouth.

The Secret World

You wanna hear something weird? Sure you do, you’re just getting warmed up. I haven’t even told Miss Usher this yet, but… Around the time things started going wrong, I started… seeing people. Other kids, I think other kids like me, you know, with powers like me. It’s the least crazy reason I can come up with to explain it. There’s a girl, a few years younger than me, who lives with her mom and dad and watches the snow come in from big mountains. Maybe Alaska? My geography is not so great. And a boy, he’s tiny but way smarter than he should be. He solves algebra when he’s nervous. He’s at a school in some suburbs, with kids in yellow raincoats and, like, little sailor suits. I don’t know what it means. Maybe I’m just inventing special friends for when the real ones let me down. But it seemed so real, the colors and the light… and I hope nothing’s happened to them. Nothing like what happened here.

The Illuminati

Miss Usher has done here best  to prepare me for the future. She warned me that there’ll be people who will try to exploit my gifts. Like having the strangers with candy talk, you know, but with magic. I know this academy is “owned” by the Illuminati, and they don’t give anything out for free. They’ll want “something” in return for my education, right? Giving back to secret society. And I’ve already been offered a full scholarship at Oxford. The magical Oxford. That’s the Templars, I knew by the look on Miss Usher’s face. And I got a weird note with some Chinese signs on it. At least it looked Chinese to me. See, i don’t want to “use” my gifts for anything. All I want is to learn how to control them, so I won’t have to use them. If that makes any sense.

Carter Unleashed

Carter is frustrated by having to sit idle while the school is falling apart around her. She wants to get out there and use her considerable abilities, but she’s afraid of the consequences.

Carter features in many of our models. She is a pure harbinger of chaos, her gift is raw but undeniable, and she was always going to play a part. It was not luck that put the two of you together, neither was it a coincidence. It was the natural consequence of all the preceding events. We knew this was going to happen. And it did. No need to update a working model.

Leave a Reply

